Getting started

Coordinator
Aug 21, 2009 at 2:50 AM

Transferred from a page comment:

BillElagizi wrote:

Thanks a lot for the control.
I am new to MS Surface. I added the namespace and the Surface Control to the XAML of a scatter view project. I added pictures to the scatetr view and the Surface Control. When I run it I get the images (which I can move around using multitouch) and Virtual Earth in a window. I can not move the map using multitouch though. Comments please. Also VE does not zoom in or out. Thanks a lot.

Bill,

The reason the map doesn't move like the other pictures in the ScatterView is because the map captures your contacts, preventing the ScatterView from seeing the events.  Think about how a user would use it.  Should they touch the map and move their finger to pan the map, or should the map never pan and moving the finger causes the map to move within the Scatterview?  Since panning is a core feature of the map, then you cannot directly move it in a ScatterView.

Instead, consider something like this: (Pseudo-code, untested in a compiler)

<s:ScatterView>

<StackPanel Margin="20">

<TextBlock Text="Map" />

<ve:SurfaceMap />

</StackPanel>

</s:ScatterView>

This will put the map inside of some other graphical elements and give you a "handle" to move the map around in the ScatterView.  Users can touch the map to pan, or touch the text label or margins to move the whole setup around.

Sep 30, 2009 at 1:56 PM

Thanks again. That works. I have a new quastion. I am trying to draw on the VE Map. I used the PhotoPaint sample in the Surface SDK. I added the PhotoPaint sample code to your SurfaceVEMapSample. I get the scatter view with the color wheel fine. When I draw, it draws on the scatter view. Is there a way to get it to draw on the VE Map. I do not know how to change the "SurfaceInkCanvas" (in the SDK sample) to include the whole VE Map. Is there another way to do same? Thanks a lot.

Coordinator
Sep 30, 2009 at 2:55 PM